Back to Staff

Tony Peyton
Board Member

  • Email:
  • Hometown:Louisville, KY

Tony Peyton is the Executive Vice President of Policy and Chief of Staff at the National Center for Families Learning (NCFL) and brings more than 25 years of public policy, project/grant management, lobbying and advocacy, and philanthropic experience in the nonprofit and governmental sectors to the organization. Prior to returning to NCFL, he served as the Program Director at the C.E. and S. Foundation, a private family foundation focused on education grantmaking and led the development and execution of a grantmaking strategy focused on important issues such as early childhood education, K-12, Out-of School Time, postsecondary education, family stability, and family engagement. He previously served on Louisville Mayor Greg Fischer’s senior staff as the Director of Public Policy, a role in which he created, developed, and managed the city’s Cradle to Career initiative. Earlier in his career, Tony was the Senior Director of Policy and Government Relations at NCFL, where he was responsible for federal and state policy, lobbying, and advocacy activities. Tony serves on the Board of Directors of the National Civic League and the University of Louisville’s Early Learning Campus and Early Childhood Research Center. In 2020, Tony was one of ten people in the country chosen for the inaugural cohort of the National League of Cities (NLC)’s Early Childhood Municipal Fellowship sponsored by the W.K. Kellogg Foundation, Bezos Family Foundation, and Pritzker Children’s Initiative. Tony attended Paducah Community College, received his B.A. and M.A. from the University of Louisville, and completed the Certificate Program in Legislative Studies at Georgetown University’s Government Affairs Institute.


  • Choose a Group
  • Staff and Fellows
  • Board
Teree Caldwell-JohnsonChairChief Executive Officer, Oakridge Neighborhood and Neighborhood Services Mayor Malik D. EvansVice ChairMayor of Rochester, NY Heather A. JohnstonTreasurerCity Coordinator, City of Minneapolis, MN Anthony SantiagoSecretaryFormer Director, Program & Partnership Development Institute for Youth, Education and Families, National League of Cities Hon. Mary Ann BorgesonBoard MemberNACo Immediate Past President; Commissioner, Douglas County, NE Maia ColeBoard MemberAssistant Vice President of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion, Continental Division of HCA Healthcare Carolyn ColemanBoard MemberExecutive Director and CEO, League of California Cities Maia ComeauBoard MemberPresident Comeau & Company Mayor John DaileyBoard MemberMayor John Dailey, City of Tallahassee, FL Johnny DuPreeBoard MemberFormer Mayor, Hattiesburg, MS Lee FeldmanBoard MemberSenior Advisor for Local Government Strategy, Zencity Ayeola FortuneBoard MemberInterim Senior Vice President, Impact Team, United Way Worldwide Dr. Joshua FranzelBoard MemberSenior Executive and Director of Research & Data Analysis at National League of Cities Mayor Patti GarrettBoard Member (Former Chair)Mayor of Decatur, Georgia Mayor Barbara HallidayBoard MemberMayor, City of Hayward, CA Valerie LemmieBoard Member (Former Chair)Director of Exploratory Research, Kettering Foundation Rita McNeil Danish, Esq.Board MemberCEO, Signal Ohio Tony PeytonBoard MemberExecutive Vice President & Chief of Staff, National Center for Families Learning Angela RomansBoard MemberFounding Executive Director, Innovation For Equity Monte RoulierBoard MemberPresident & Co-Founder Community Initiatives Inc. Hon. Angel TaverasBoard Member Partner, Womble Bond Dickinson (US) LLP Councilwoman Jamie TorresBoard MemberCouncilwoman, District 3, Denver, CO Wendy WillisBoard MemberExecutive Director, Deliberative Democracy Consortium

Who We Are

  • Main Phone:

  • General Email:

  • Main Address:
    190 E. 9th Ave. Suite 440
    Denver, CO 80203

View All

Thank You to Our Key Partners