Back to Staff

Nick Vlahos
Deputy Director

Nick Vlahos is the Deputy Director of the Center for Democracy Innovation at the National Civic League. Nick is passionate about democracy, and specifically citizen empowerment and collaborative public service provisioning in contexts of inequality. He holds a PhD in political science from York University, specializing in the interconnection between political economy, decentralization, and deliberative democratization. Nick recently published a book entitled The Political Economy of Devolution in Britain from the Postwar Era to Brexit. He also writes about how public participation and deliberation can elevate social well-being by mobilizing problem-solving strategies facing local areas and (re)build better connections to elected officials and formal political institutions.

Previously, Nick was a fellow at the Centre for Deliberative Democracy and Global Governance, at the University of Australia leading an international research and civic engagement initiative called Connecting to Parliament. He is a member of the Democracy R&D network and the participatory governance cluster of Participedia. Nick also worked on the ground in Alexandra Park, a social housing revitalization neighborhood in the Toronto Community Housing Corporation, leading tenant engagement, including participatory budgeting concerning capital infrastructure. In addition, Nick was part of the first Bloomberg Philanthropy innovation team in Canada, working on a project concerning civic engagement with underrepresented populations at the City of Toronto’s Civic Innovation Office.

  • Choose a Group
  • Staff and Fellows
  • Board
Mayor Malik D. EvansChairMayor of Rochester, NY Mayor G.T. BynumVice ChairMayor of Tulsa, OK Heather A. JohnstonTreasurerCity Coordinator, City of Minneapolis, MN Anthony SantiagoSecretaryPrincipal, Outside N Strategies Ray BarayBoard MemberChief of Staff, ICMA Hon. Mary Ann BorgesonBoard MemberNACo Immediate Past President; Commissioner, Douglas County, NE T.C. BroadnaxBoard MemberCity Manager, City of Dallas Diana Romero CampbellBoard MemberCouncil Member, Denver District 4 Adam CarlisleBoard MemberVice President of Labor Relations, Southwest Airlines Maia ComeauBoard MemberPresident Comeau & Company Todd ConnorBoard MemberCEO, Veterans for Political Innovation Mayor John DaileyBoard MemberMayor John Dailey, City of Tallahassee, FL Johnny DuPreeBoard MemberFormer Mayor, Hattiesburg, MS Ayeola FortuneBoard MemberInterim Senior Vice President, Impact Team, United Way Worldwide Dr. Joshua FranzelBoard MemberSenior Executive and Director of Research & Data Analysis at National League of Cities Mayor Patti GarrettBoard Member (Former Chair)Mayor of Decatur, Georgia Valerie LemmieBoard Member (Former Chair)Director of Exploratory Research, Kettering Foundation Rita McNeil Danish, Esq.Board MemberCEO, Signal Ohio Angela MontezBoard MemberSenior Vice President, Chief Legal, Corporate & Government Affairs Officer, MissionSquare Retirement Onyeka ObiochaBoard MemberExecutive Director, CTNext Tony PeytonBoard MemberExecutive Vice President & Chief of Staff, National Center for Families Learning Angela RomansBoard MemberFounding Executive Director, Innovation For Equity Monte RoulierBoard MemberPresident & Co-Founder Community Initiatives Inc. Mayor Vince WilliamsBoard MemberMayor of Union City, GA Wendy WillisBoard MemberExecutive Director, Deliberative Democracy Consortium

Who We Are

  • Main Phone:

  • General Email:
    [email protected]

  • Main Address:
    190 E. 9th Ave. Suite 440
    Denver, CO 80203

View All

Thank You to Our Key Partners