Back to Staff

Mike Huggins
Senior Fellow

  • Hometown:Eau Claire, WI

Mike is a retired Wisconsin city manager and community development director with over 40 years of leadership experience in local government and public engagement. He is a Credentialed Manager with the International City/County Management Association (ICMA) and served as a Leading Practices Service Provider for the ICMA Center for Management Studies. He was a Senior Lecturer in leadership and citizen engagement at the University of Wisconsin-Eau Claire and founder and former board member of Clear Vision Eau Claire, a 2015 National Finalist for the Harvard University Ash Center Innovations in Public Engagement in Government Award. In 2016-2017 he served as co-chair and lead facilitator for a citizen-led public engagement initiative to address poverty and income insecurity in Eau Claire County. He is a Local Government Fellow at the Wisconsin Institute for Public Policy and Service and serves on the National Civic League Council of Advisors.

Mike’s research and training experience includes public engagement and problem solving, civic organizing, local democratic practices, and articles published in Public Management and the National Civic Review. He completed the Gamaliel Network National Leadership Training for community organizers and holds a Master of Public Administration and a Master of Urban Planning from the University of Kansas.

  • Choose a Group
  • Staff and Fellows
  • Board
Mayor Patti GarrettChairMayor of Decatur, Georgia Angela RomansVice ChairInterim Executive Director, AchieveMission Heather A. JohnstonTreasurerFormer City Manager, City of Burnsville, MN Anthony SantiagoSecretarySenior Fellow, Program & Partnership Development, National League of Cities Hon. Mary Ann BorgesonBoard MemberNACo Immediate Past President; Commissioner, Douglas County, NE Teree Caldwell-JohnsonBoard MemberChair, Des Moines School Board Hon. Brad ColeBoard MemberExecutive Director of the Illinois Municipal League Maia ComeauBoard MemberPresident Comeau & Company Mayor John DaileyBoard MemberMayor John Dailey, City of Tallahassee, FL Lee FeldmanBoard MemberPresident-Elect of the International City/Count Management Association (ICMA) Nicole FerriniBoard MemberChief Resiliency Officer, City of El Paso, TX Mayor Barbara HallidayBoard MemberMayor, City of Hayward, CA Alex HannahBoard MemberManaging Vice President, Marketing & Communications, ICMA-RC Valerie LemmieFormer ChairDirector of Exploratory Research, Kettering Foundation Hon. Ron LoveridgeBoard MemberDirector of the Center for Sustainable Suburban Development at the University of California Maureen McDonaldBoard MemberPrincipal, Maureen McDonald, LLC Rita McNeil Danish, Esq.Board MemberPartner, Taft Law Firm, Columbus and Chicago Derek OkuboBoard MemberExecutive Director, Agency for Human Rights and Community Partnerships Tony PeytonBoard MemberProgram Director, C.E. and S. Foundation Monte RoulierBoard MemberPresident & Co-Founder Community Initiatives Inc. Mayor Elise RyanBoard MemberMayor of Chanhassen, MN Hon. Angel TaverasBoard Member Partner, Womble Bond Dickinson (US) LLP Wendy WillisBoard MemberExecutive Director, Deliberative Democracy Consortium

Who We Are

  • Main Phone:

  • General Email:

  • Main Address:
    190 E. 9th Ave. Suite 200
    Denver, CO 80203

View All

Thank You to Our Key Partners