Back to Staff

Ray Baray
Board Member

Ray Baray joined ICMA in May 2020 after a 25-plus year career in local and state government. In this capacity, Ray serves as an advisor to the Executive Director as well as the organization’s
second in command. Among Ray’s numerous duties, he also provides strategic oversight of the Racial Equity & Social Justice Action Team, which is charged with equity and inclusion programming and activities for ICMA membership and staff.

Most recently, Ray served as Assistant City Manager and Chief of Staff for the City of Austin, Texas. Ray’s numerous leadership positions also includes having served as the Deputy Secretary of State for the State of New Mexico; Governmental Relations Officer for the City of San Antonio; and Special Assistant for Public Policy to the Texas Attorney General.

Ray has a Master of Public Administration degree from the University of Texas at San Antonio and also earned a Bachelor of Arts degree in Political Science from Trinity University. Ray and his wife, Sarah, a Ph.D. professor who serves as CEO/President of Pre-K4SA at the City of San Antonio, reside in Ray’s hometown of San Antonio with their two daughters, Auren and Claire.

  • Choose a Group
  • Staff and Fellows
  • Board
Mayor Malik D. EvansChairMayor of Rochester, NY Mayor G.T. BynumVice ChairMayor of Tulsa, OK Heather A. JohnstonTreasurerChief Operating Officer, Winthrop & Weinstine Anthony SantiagoSecretaryPrincipal, Outside N Strategies Ray BarayBoard MemberChief of Staff, ICMA Hon. Mary Ann BorgesonBoard MemberNACo Immediate Past President; Commissioner, Douglas County, NE T.C. BroadnaxBoard MemberCity Manager, City of Austin Diana Romero CampbellBoard MemberCouncil Member, Denver District 4 Adam CarlisleBoard MemberVice President of Labor Relations, Southwest Airlines Maia ComeauBoard MemberPresident Comeau & Company Todd ConnorBoard MemberCEO, Veterans for All Voters Mayor John DaileyBoard MemberMayor John Dailey, City of Tallahassee, FL Johnny DuPreeBoard MemberFormer Mayor, Hattiesburg, MS Ayeola FortuneBoard MemberVice President, Impact Programs, United Way Worldwide Dr. Joshua FranzelBoard MemberSenior Executive and Director of Research & Data Analysis at National League of Cities Mayor Patti GarrettBoard Member (Former Chair)Mayor of Decatur, Georgia Valerie LemmieBoard Member (Former Chair)Director of Exploratory Research, Kettering Foundation Rita McNeil Danish, Esq.Board MemberCEO, Signal Ohio Angela MontezBoard MemberSenior Vice President, Chief Legal, Corporate & Government Affairs Officer, MissionSquare Retirement Onyeka ObiochaBoard MemberExecutive Director, CTNext Tony PeytonBoard MemberExecutive Vice President & Chief of Staff, National Center for Families Learning Angela RomansBoard MemberFounding Executive Director, Innovation For Equity Monte RoulierBoard MemberPresident & Co-Founder Community Initiatives Inc. Mayor Vince WilliamsBoard MemberMayor of Union City, GA Wendy WillisBoard MemberExecutive Director, Deliberative Democracy Consortium

Who We Are

  • Main Phone:

  • General Email:
    [email protected]

  • Main Address:
    190 E. 9th Ave. Suite 440
    Denver, CO 80203

View All

Thank You to Our Key Partners