Back to Staff

Maia Comeau
Board Member

  • Hometown:Carlisle, PA

Maia Comeau is a public affairs leader with over seventeen years of experience in international government affairs strategy, institution building, leadership development and event planning in Washington, DC. Maia served for twelve years at the German Marshall Fund of the United States where she founded both the Congressional Affairs department, in 2004, and the Richard Lugar Institute for Diplomacy and Congress in 2013. Under her leadership, the congressional affairs department grew to include seven professional staff, with an operating budget of 1.2 million. The department handled a variety of programs designed to educate Congress on transatlantic policy. In addition to her role as Director of Congressional Affairs, she founded, in 2013, the Richard G. Lugar Institute for Diplomacy and Congress which worked to build bridges between foreign diplomats and the US Congress. While at GMF, Ms. Comeau spearheaded an organization wide effort to develop diversity and inclusion best practice policies, including the creation of the first affinity group on women and leadership which offered professional development and mentoring opportunities for GMF employees.

In 2016, she founded Disruptive Strategies, now called Comeau and Company, with the goal of lifting the veil on the industry of influence—giving clients simple, effective and human strategies for developing an influential presence with federal policymakers and all who support them. She now advises countries, companies, foundations and nonprofit organizations on how best to develop a presence and network of influencers who can eventually support any action to petition the US Government.

She is graduate of the 2016 class of Presidential Leadership Scholars, led by President’s Bill Clinton and George W. Bush. She has been awarded fellowships with the Bucerius Young Leader Summer School on Global Governance; American Council on Germany; the Draeger Foundation; and, the American Israel Education Foundation. She currently serves on the Board of IMMAP and is a Senior Fellow with the Center for the Study of the Presidency and Congress and The Lugar Center.

  • Choose a Group
  • Staff and Fellows
  • Board
Teree Caldwell-JohnsonChairChief Executive Officer, Oakridge Neighborhood and Neighborhood Services Mayor Malik D. EvansVice ChairMayor of Rochester, NY Heather A. JohnstonTreasurerCity Coordinator, City of Minneapolis, MN Anthony SantiagoSecretaryFormer Director, Program & Partnership Development Institute for Youth, Education and Families, National League of Cities Hon. Mary Ann BorgesonBoard MemberNACo Immediate Past President; Commissioner, Douglas County, NE Maia ColeBoard MemberAssistant Vice President of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion, Continental Division of HCA Healthcare Carolyn ColemanBoard MemberExecutive Director and CEO, League of California Cities Maia ComeauBoard MemberPresident Comeau & Company Mayor John DaileyBoard MemberMayor John Dailey, City of Tallahassee, FL Johnny DuPreeBoard MemberFormer Mayor, Hattiesburg, MS Lee FeldmanBoard MemberSenior Advisor for Local Government Strategy, Zencity Ayeola FortuneBoard MemberInterim Senior Vice President, Impact Team, United Way Worldwide Dr. Joshua FranzelBoard MemberSenior Executive and Director of Research & Data Analysis at National League of Cities Mayor Patti GarrettBoard Member (Former Chair)Mayor of Decatur, Georgia Mayor Barbara HallidayBoard MemberMayor, City of Hayward, CA Valerie LemmieBoard Member (Former Chair)Director of Exploratory Research, Kettering Foundation Rita McNeil Danish, Esq.Board MemberCEO, Signal Ohio Tony PeytonBoard MemberExecutive Vice President & Chief of Staff, National Center for Families Learning Angela RomansBoard MemberFounding Executive Director, Innovation For Equity Monte RoulierBoard MemberPresident & Co-Founder Community Initiatives Inc. Hon. Angel TaverasBoard Member Partner, Womble Bond Dickinson (US) LLP Councilwoman Jamie TorresBoard MemberCouncilwoman, District 3, Denver, CO Wendy WillisBoard MemberExecutive Director, Deliberative Democracy Consortium

Who We Are

  • Main Phone:

  • General Email:

  • Main Address:
    190 E. 9th Ave. Suite 440
    Denver, CO 80203

View All

Thank You to Our Key Partners