Back to Staff

Rita McNeil Danish, Esq.
Board Member

  • Hometown:Columbus, OH

Rita McNeil Danish is a savvy problem solver, strategist and advocate with real world experience in the public and private sectors. A partner at Taft Stettinius & Hollister and Founder and CEO of JD2 Strategists LLC, she has spent decades providing counsel in municipal law, crisis management, government affairs, and employment matters. Rita’s clients rely on her to help them navigate turbulent times and deliver trusted counsel. As a result of her vast experiences in the public and private sectors, Rita focuses her practice in the areas of municipal law, government affairs, economic development, administrative compliance, personnel, and civil rights/diversity and inclusion. She brings her passion to empower economic growth in local communities through diversity and inclusion work with small, women, and minority owned business.

Rita has significant hands-on experience from serving in a variety of roles at both state and local government levels. Her significant government experience has been earned serving in a variety of roles at both state and local government levels. She has been a Judge and Magistrate in the Domestic & Juvenile Division of the Franklin County Court of Common Pleas, a City Attorney for the cities of Cincinnati and Dayton, Ohio, Assistant Deputy Legal Counsel for Governor George V. Voinovich, Chief Legal Counsel for the Ohio Department of Commerce, and Vice President for Government Affairs at the Cincinnati USA Regional Chamber of Commerce.

Rita graduated cum laude with a Bachelors of Business Administration from Howard University. She received her Juris Doctorate from The Ohio State University College of Law.

  • Choose a Group
  • Staff and Fellows
  • Board
Mayor Patti GarrettChairMayor of Decatur, Georgia Angela RomansVice ChairInterim Executive Director, AchieveMission Heather A. JohnstonTreasurerFormer City Manager, City of Burnsville, MN Anthony SantiagoSecretarySenior Fellow, Program & Partnership Development, National League of Cities Hon. Mary Ann BorgesonBoard MemberNACo Immediate Past President; Commissioner, Douglas County, NE Teree Caldwell-JohnsonBoard MemberChair, Des Moines School Board Hon. Brad ColeBoard MemberExecutive Director of the Illinois Municipal League Maia ComeauBoard MemberPresident Comeau & Company Mayor John DaileyBoard MemberMayor John Dailey, City of Tallahassee, FL Lee FeldmanBoard MemberPresident-Elect of the International City/Count Management Association (ICMA) Nicole FerriniBoard MemberChief Resiliency Officer, City of El Paso, TX Mayor Barbara HallidayBoard MemberMayor, City of Hayward, CA Alex HannahBoard MemberManaging Vice President, Marketing & Communications, ICMA-RC Valerie LemmieFormer ChairDirector of Exploratory Research, Kettering Foundation Hon. Ron LoveridgeBoard MemberDirector of the Center for Sustainable Suburban Development at the University of California Maureen McDonaldBoard MemberPrincipal, Maureen McDonald, LLC Rita McNeil Danish, Esq.Board MemberPartner, Taft Law Firm, Columbus and Chicago Derek OkuboBoard MemberExecutive Director, Agency for Human Rights and Community Partnerships Tony PeytonBoard MemberProgram Director, C.E. and S. Foundation Monte RoulierBoard MemberPresident & Co-Founder Community Initiatives Inc. Mayor Elise RyanBoard MemberMayor of Chanhassen, MN Hon. Angel TaverasBoard Member Partner, Womble Bond Dickinson (US) LLP Wendy WillisBoard MemberExecutive Director, Deliberative Democracy Consortium

Who We Are

  • Main Phone:

  • General Email:

  • Main Address:
    190 E. 9th Ave. Suite 200
    Denver, CO 80203

View All

Thank You to Our Key Partners