Back to Staff

Angela Montez
Board Member

Angela Montez is Senior Vice President, Chief Legal, Corporate & Government Affairs Officer at MissionSquare Retirement. Prior to that, she was a special counsel working with Eversheds Sutherland’s Investment Services Practice Group where she focused her practice on retirement and investment policy and products, including ERISA and related federal tax and securities law issues and collective investment trust matters.

With more than 25 years of experience in the financial services industry, Angela has been a trusted advisor to boards of directors and the C-suite on critical legal, governance, legislative and regulatory matters.

Prior to working with Eversheds Sutherland, Angela served as General Counsel & Chief Legal Officer at MissionSquare Retirement (formerly ICMA-RC), where she led and supervised all aspects of the legal function and corporate governance and served as a member of the company’s senior leadership team.

Prior to this, she held several different legal roles within the company, from Privacy Officer to Chief Legal Officer of the company’s mutual fund complex, and was an officer and advisor to the company’s broker-dealer, investment adviser, transfer agent and trust company subsidiaries.

Prior to these in-house positions, Angela worked as an associate at a prominent employee benefits law firm where she focused on Title I of ERISA, counseling clients regarding fiduciary responsibility, investment and health care matters.

  • Choose a Group
  • Staff and Fellows
  • Board
Mayor Malik D. EvansChairMayor of Rochester, NY Mayor G.T. BynumVice ChairMayor of Tulsa, OK Heather A. JohnstonTreasurerCity Coordinator, City of Minneapolis, MN Anthony SantiagoSecretaryPrincipal, Outside N Strategies Ray BarayBoard MemberChief of Staff, ICMA Hon. Mary Ann BorgesonBoard MemberNACo Immediate Past President; Commissioner, Douglas County, NE T.C. BroadnaxBoard MemberCity Manager, City of Dallas Diana Romero CampbellBoard MemberCouncil Member, Denver District 4 Adam CarlisleBoard MemberVice President of Labor Relations, Southwest Airlines Maia ComeauBoard MemberPresident Comeau & Company Todd ConnorBoard MemberCEO, Veterans for Political Innovation Mayor John DaileyBoard MemberMayor John Dailey, City of Tallahassee, FL Johnny DuPreeBoard MemberFormer Mayor, Hattiesburg, MS Ayeola FortuneBoard MemberVice President, Impact Programs, United Way Worldwide Dr. Joshua FranzelBoard MemberSenior Executive and Director of Research & Data Analysis at National League of Cities Mayor Patti GarrettBoard Member (Former Chair)Mayor of Decatur, Georgia Valerie LemmieBoard Member (Former Chair)Director of Exploratory Research, Kettering Foundation Rita McNeil Danish, Esq.Board MemberCEO, Signal Ohio Angela MontezBoard MemberSenior Vice President, Chief Legal, Corporate & Government Affairs Officer, MissionSquare Retirement Onyeka ObiochaBoard MemberExecutive Director, CTNext Tony PeytonBoard MemberExecutive Vice President & Chief of Staff, National Center for Families Learning Angela RomansBoard MemberFounding Executive Director, Innovation For Equity Monte RoulierBoard MemberPresident & Co-Founder Community Initiatives Inc. Mayor Vince WilliamsBoard MemberMayor of Union City, GA Wendy WillisBoard MemberExecutive Director, Deliberative Democracy Consortium

Who We Are

  • Main Phone:

  • General Email:
    [email protected]

  • Main Address:
    190 E. 9th Ave. Suite 440
    Denver, CO 80203

View All

Thank You to Our Key Partners