Back to Staff

Onyeka Obiocha
Board Member

  • Hometown:New Haven, CT

Ony is responsible for managing CTNext’s full array of strategic economic development programs focused on fostering entrepreneurship, startup and growth-stage businesses while cultivating a robust innovation ecosystem on behalf of the State of Connecticut.

Prior to assuming his role at CTNext, Ony was the Managing Director of the Tsai Center for Innovative Thinking at Yale (Tsai CITY), where he deployed capital, developed programming and attracted resources to help students launch and scale for-profit and nonprofit organizations. He also recently served as the Director of Integrated Capitals and Learning at the Heron Foundation and was responsible for implementing practices to embed Heron’s emerging principles into the communities, investments and operational strategies of the organization.

Over the course of his entrepreneurial career Ony has taken on various roles, from designing a corporate social responsibility program for a food startup in Hartford, CT, to
starting Sharelogical, an e-commerce platform empowering consumers to make charitable donations by leveraging affiliate marketing. Most notable was his time as cofounder and COO of A Happy Life, a coffee roasting company and coffee shop with the mission to create a happier world for all. Ony’s newest venture includes co-founding Breakfast Lunch & Dinner, a startup studio that starts, supports and scales community ventures.

Ony holds a bachelor’s degree in Economics from the University of Connecticut and lives in New Haven, CT. His overall goal is to build a world where innovation and entrepreneurship fundamentally shape vibrant communities. Outside of work, he enjoys natural wines, long walks and UConn basketball.

  • Choose a Group
  • Staff and Fellows
  • Board
Mayor Malik D. EvansChairMayor of Rochester, NY Mayor G.T. BynumVice ChairMayor of Tulsa, OK Heather A. JohnstonTreasurerCity Coordinator, City of Minneapolis, MN Anthony SantiagoSecretaryPrincipal, Outside N Strategies Ray BarayBoard MemberChief of Staff, ICMA Hon. Mary Ann BorgesonBoard MemberNACo Immediate Past President; Commissioner, Douglas County, NE T.C. BroadnaxBoard MemberCity Manager, City of Dallas Teree Caldwell-JohnsonBoard Member (Former Chair)Chief Executive Officer, Oakridge Neighborhood and Neighborhood Services Diana Romero CampbellBoard MemberCouncil Member, Denver District 4 Adam CarlisleBoard MemberVice President of Labor Relations, Southwest Airlines Carolyn ColemanBoard MemberExecutive Director and CEO, League of California Cities Maia ComeauBoard MemberPresident Comeau & Company Todd ConnorBoard MemberCEO, Veterans for Political Innovation Mayor John DaileyBoard MemberMayor John Dailey, City of Tallahassee, FL Johnny DuPreeBoard MemberFormer Mayor, Hattiesburg, MS Ayeola FortuneBoard MemberInterim Senior Vice President, Impact Team, United Way Worldwide Dr. Joshua FranzelBoard MemberSenior Executive and Director of Research & Data Analysis at National League of Cities Mayor Patti GarrettBoard Member (Former Chair)Mayor of Decatur, Georgia Valerie LemmieBoard Member (Former Chair)Director of Exploratory Research, Kettering Foundation Rita McNeil Danish, Esq.Board MemberCEO, Signal Ohio Angela MontezBoard MemberSenior Vice President, Chief Legal, Corporate & Government Affairs Officer, MissionSquare Retirement Onyeka ObiochaBoard MemberExecutive Director, CTNext Tony PeytonBoard MemberExecutive Vice President & Chief of Staff, National Center for Families Learning Angela RomansBoard MemberFounding Executive Director, Innovation For Equity Monte RoulierBoard MemberPresident & Co-Founder Community Initiatives Inc. Mayor Vince WilliamsBoard MemberMayor of Union City, GA Wendy WillisBoard MemberExecutive Director, Deliberative Democracy Consortium

Who We Are

  • Main Phone:

  • General Email:

  • Main Address:
    190 E. 9th Ave. Suite 440
    Denver, CO 80203

View All

Thank You to Our Key Partners