Register for April Promising Practices Webinar Series: Community Policing

BBBS Emily_brightenedColumbia Heights Police Chief Scott Nadeau and presidential task force member Sean Michael Scott will discuss community policing during the April All-America City Promising Practices webinar.

 

The two, who have extensive experience in law enforcement, will discuss recommendations from the 21stCentury Policing task force as well as practices of community-oriented policing in Columbia Heights, Minnesota.  Columbia Heights was named an All-America City winner in 2016.

 

The free webinar will be Tuesday, April 25, at 12:30 p.m. PST/ 1:30 p.m.  MST / 2:30 p.m. CST / 3:30 p.m. EST.  Registration for the webinar can be completed here. Participants also will learn about the newly released 2018 AAC application, which has a spotlight on promoting equity through inclusive civic engagement.

 

Nadeau, who has served as Columbia Heights police chief since April 2008, has led the department's return to community-oriented policing. To do this, the department has expanded important police-community partnerships and increased community and stakeholder support of the department. Nadeau credits those changes with seven straight years of crime reduction , including a sharp decline in juvenile arrests.

 

Smoot, who was appointed to President Obama’s Task Force on 21st Century Policing, is a principal consultant in 21st Century Policing LLC, a global consulting firm.  Smoot also is the director and chief counsel of the Police Benevolent and Police Association of Illinois. He is an expert in a variety of police-related topics, including use of force and Section 1983 Civil Rights Litigation.  Smoot also serves on the team monitoring the Cleveland Police Department’s consent decree.

 

Smoot earned a bachelor’s degree in criminal justice sciences and a law degree. He also was a member of the 2008-2014 Executive Session on Policing and Public Safety at Harvard University’s Kennedy School of Government.

 

Nadeau also has provided training to law enforcement officers and leaders and written studies on various law enforcement subjects. Nadeau holds a bachelor’s degree in law enforcement and a master’s degree in public administration as well as graduated from the Federal Bureau of Investigation’s National Academy.

Some Related Posts

View All

Thank You to Our Major Supporters