29 Communities Receive SolSmart Recognition

On September 23rd, as part of the 104th ICMA Annual Conference in Baltimore, Maryland, 29 communities received Special Recognition Awards for their incredible work in lowering the cost of going solar. These communities earned at least 60% of the credits available in at least one of the criteria categories (Permitting; Planning Zoning and Development; Inspection; Construction Codes; Solar Rights; Utility Engagement; Community Engagement; Market Development and Finance) between September 2017 and September 2018

(Communities earning recognition in multiple categories are in bold)


Boise, ID; Chelmsford, MA; Corinth, TX; Denton, TX; Dracut, MA; Tyngsborough, MA; West Palm Beach, FL; Will County, IL


Beach Park, IL; Chattanooga, TN; Chelmsford, MA; Dracut, MA; Durango, CO; Hanover Park, IL; Highland; Park, IL; Las Vegas, NV; Laurel, MD; Lowell, MA; Mercer Island, WA; Oakland, CA; Palm Springs, CA; Pepperell, MA; Richmond, VA; Rochester, MN; South Barrington, IL; Tyngsborough, MA; West Palm Beach, FL

Solar Rights

Albuquerque, NM; Hawthorn Woods, IL

Utility Engagement

Broward County, FL; Rochester, MN

Community Engagement

Fairfield, CT; Erie County, NY

Market Development and Finance

Coventry, CT

To learn more about SolSmart, visit https://www.solsmart.org/

Some Related Posts

View All

Thank You to Our Key Partners