2015 All-America Cities Announced!

The National Civic League is proud to announce the winners of the 2015 All-America City Awards. The annual award celebrates and recognizes neighborhoods, villages, towns, cities, counties, tribes and metro regions that engage residents in innovative, inclusive and effective efforts to tackle critical challenges.

Listed in alphabetical order by state, the ten 2015 All-America Cities are:

Carson, California;
, California;
, Florida;
, Massachusetts;
, Mississippi;
, New York;
, Texas;
, Washington;
Yakima, Washington.

Click here to view their presentations describing their innovative projects. 

This year’s award focused on community efforts to engage and support vulnerable young men and boys, aligning with efforts such as The White House’s My Brother’s Keeper Initiative.

During the three-day event, delegations of community activists and leaders (more than 500 in total) presented their stories of positive civic change to a jury of 13 leaders from the public, private and nonprofit sectors. They also shared ideas, insights and stories of impact in interactive peer workshops.

Their innovative initiatives and programs encompassed a range of efforts improving the lives of vulnerable young people including: leadership development, drop-out prevention, workforce development, strengthening the relationship between youth and law enforcement, building networks of mentors and peer support, as well as community engagement. Other challenges tackled by the winners include neighborhood revitalization, disaster recovery and turning a toxic wasteland into a space for recreation and civic education.

Watch the short video below to get a sense of the energy, enthusiasm and emotion of the All-America City experience

[/fusion_text][youtube id=”A7SKMEWHU9w” width=”600″ height=”350″ autoplay=”no” api_params=”” class=””][fusion_text]”All-America City Award winners inspire other communities with a sense of hope and purpose,” said National Civic League President Gloria Rubio-Cortés. “They are leading the way when it comes to innovative efforts to promote positive community change.”

The All-America City competition brings together high-achieving communities to discuss the innovative ways they are addressing the most critical issues facing our communities.

More than 550 communities have won the award since it was first given in 1949, some as many as five times. Click here for a list of past winners.

All-America City finalists and winners receive national attention. Being an All-America City has helped communities secure new businesses, increase tourism, and secure state and federal grants.

After the competition, AAC communities continue to participate in NCL’s growing network of innovative communities.

We want to thank the sponsors of the 2015 All-America City Awards:

 W.K. Kellogg Foundation

Campaign for Grade-Level Reading

Southwest Airlines, The Official Airline of the All-America City Awards

Annie E. Casey Foundation

Greenberg Traurig

PCL Construction

Alameda Gateway Community Association

Mile High United Way

Kaiser Permanente Denver Region

First Bank

City of Dublin, California

City of Rancho Cordova, California

City of Aurora, Colorado

City & County of Denver, Colorado

City of Lakewood, Colorado

City of Fort Lauderdale, Florida

City of Gladstone, Missouri

City of Hickory, North Carolina

Delta Dental

Skillman Foundation[/fusion_text]

Some Related Posts

View All

Thank You to Our Key Partners