All-America City celebration in Mount Pleasant draws crowd

By Martine Wolfe-Miller

Mayor Billy Swails and Mount Pleasant Town Council celebrated last Saturday the Town’s new “All-America City” designation with a party at Memorial Waterfront Park. The majority of the 41-member delegation was present at the event and was recognized for helping secure the much-coveted national title. More than 600 people attended the event.

The Town held children activities and gave away 500 tee-shirts to the first-comers prior to the celebration. At 8:30 pm, the public was treated to several videos showcasing the winning trip to Kansas City, Missouri, and the celebration concluded with a movie in the park featuring “E.T.: the Extra-Terrestrial.”

Mayor Swails stated, “The delegation members present here tonight, traveled to Kansas City last month to compete against 24 distinguished municipalities for the All-America City title. We are grateful for their dedication, professionalism and knowledge of the community. They did bring home the title! I would also like to thank the corporate sponsors who made this trip possible.”

“The All-America City Award places Mount Pleasant in a privileged category,” added Town Administrator Mac Burdette. “All-America Cities benefit by increasing community pride, networking with civic activists from across the country, and by gaining national recognition. The All-America City designation has also helped communities win grants and new resources and attract new employers.”

The All-America City Awards is America’s original and most prestigious community recognition program. It was founded 61 years ago by the National Civic League.

“These All-America Cities represent what is working in American communities,” said National Civic League President Gloria Rubio Cortés. “They are taking on challenging issues and finding innovative ways of creating a better future. We are inspired by their stories every year.”

The All-America City delegation members included Mayor Billy Swails, Peggy Swails, Councilman Paul Gawrych, Councilman Elton Carrier, Councilwoman Thomasena Stokes-Marshall, Town Administrator Mac Burdette, Deputy Town Administrator Eric DeMoura, Michael Allen, Jennifer Backman, Erica Campbell, Kate Darby, Lou Edens, Forrest Evans, Christiane Farrell, Bobby Farrell, John Farrell, Luke Farrell, Madeline Fellabom, Kylie Fowler, Rob Fowler, Jeff Garrard, Tina Garrett, Tommy Grimes, Celia Grimes, Renee Groff, Santana Groff, Everett Jones, Ashley Richardson, Tan McMillian, Sedauria McMillian, Kiera Reinertsen, Sy Rosenthal, Marlene Rosenthal, Allen Shuford, Robin Shuler, Ted Summerford, Naquan Villega, Herb Williams, Cynthia Williams, Elizabeth Wilson, Gabrielle Wolfe and Martine Wolfe-Miller.

The All-America City corporate sponsors included Stubbs, Muldrow, Herin Architects; Oakland Properties, LLC; Edward J. Westbrook; Banks Construction; Rial Fitch; Royall Ace Hardware; Island Publications; Dennis Corporation; East Cooper Medical Center; William Swails State Farm Insurance Company; Beach Shellpoint LLC; Charleston Trident Association Realtors; HDR Engineering; KOA Mount Pleasant; Thomas and Hutton Engineering; Roper St. Francis Healthcare; Marlene Rosenthal; Lou Edens; SouthCoast Bank – Wayne Pearson; and Gilligan’s Steamer & Raw Bar.

Some Related Posts

View All

Thank You to Our Key Partners